Rage Against the Android #eclipse

Developing Android applications on Linux with Eclipse sometimes can get really ugly. Sadly neither NetBeans which has a really nice Android plugin, but cannot execute a single test nor IDEA can rescue me or make me switching😦 but probably they wouldn’t rescue me due to problems of Android development kit itself – I’m not sure.

Update: Have a look at my solution

So, I’ve collected some of the most common problems I encountered while developing an Android app and how to ‘solve’ them:

  • Problem: Eclipse says ‘Your project contains error(s), please fix it before running it.’ and you cannot find a problem.
    Solution:
    1. Open the problem tab. fix the described errors.
    2. Make sure that you included all necessary jars in your build path
    3. Sometimes even this can help: rm ~/.android/debug.keystore
  • Problem: you cannot debug your application
    Solution:
    1. check if debuggable = true in application tag of manifest xml
    2. if that does not help or if you are getting “Can’t bind to local 8601 for debugger” in the Console tab then read this and make sure you use only the line
    127.0.0.1       localhost
    in your hosts file. if not, change the file and restart adb (see below)
  • Problem: Error “AdbCommandRejectedException: device not found”
    Solution: restart adb (see below)
  • Problem: you cannot select one test case to execute
    Solution: run the whole (android) juni test or a package and then select via right click to debug one single test

If nothing seems to help then try one or all of the following steps:
1. restart device
2. restart eclipse
3. restart adb: sudo adb kill-server; sudo adb start-server

Please add your problems and solutions in the comments😉

4 thoughts on “Rage Against the Android #eclipse

  1. Have you considered using HTML5+phonegap for your mobile client?Assuming this effort is for jetslide, you already have a web client written. A library like jo might be needed to clean up the UI though.

    I was initially going to use native Android, but it seems most things can be done in HTML5 and edge cases can be handled by phongap plugins.

  2. Yes, for jetslide I have considered phonegap and before that jquerymobile (http://jetsli.de/js-main) etc which are nice to develop with and also a prototype for treesaverjs http://jetsli.de/reader (which is in theorie better for jetslide-alike-apps but suboptimal as it has several bugs)

    but I’ve no time for it …

    And I still have to use Android for projects “at work” which requires native access.

  3. Too bad about the android work requirement. The thought of ‘easily’ creating an iPhone or Android native app from a Web UI is what steered me in this direction. Wish I could be more help on your project, but I’m still learning.

    I haven’t found too many OS projects with a good example of a phonegap mobile web UI. One that might help you is here though: http://code.google.com/p/smap-suite/wiki/Smap7WebMobileUIFrameworks
    They’re using jqmobile

    Some people complain about jqmobile performance and have moved to xui or zepto, particularly when using phonegap. I’ve no direct experience though.

    Let me know if you run across any other good projects to look at..

  4. Pingback: Rage Against the Android – Nearly solved! #eclipse #netbeans « Find Time for the Karussell

Comments are closed.