Quicktip: Upgraded to Ubuntu 9.10

I simply did (Go to the full upgrade instructions for more information.)

sudo do-release-upgrade

and clicked “ok” two times. That was all!

Within ~40-60 minutes (while I did something in parallel) it reinstalled a lot of packages, the kernel, …

Additional Info:

  • Jdk 5 is not longer supported from sun and because of this it is not available in apt-get. So you have to install it manually.
  • There is no Grip :-( Could I use KaudioCreator as alternative?
  • Couldn’t upgrade kbluetooth4.(?) I reinstalled this … now it works
  • Upgrading the VirtualBox driver was necessary, but easy:
    sudo /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup
  • I had to re-disable the annoying sound on the login screen, but there is no sound entry under System->Preferences ?
    But this helped: sudo apt-get remove ubuntu-sounds
  • I had to edit the color in the video player because of a blue breath: Edit->Preferences->Display->Reset to Default
  • I had to manually update the java version:
    sudo apt-get remove sun-java6-jre
    sudo apt-get install sun-java6-plugin
    sudo apt-get install sun-java6-jdk

Thats all! I like updating the ubuntu/debian way🙂

One thought on “Quicktip: Upgraded to Ubuntu 9.10

  1. Pingback: Dell Latitude E6400 – The Perfect Linux Notebook? Or is Ubuntu The Perfect Linux? « Find Time for Java and more!

Comments are closed.