Shame on Sourceforge?

Sourceforge restricts access from some more ‘evil’ countries. Read more here. This violates Open Source Initiative:

“5. No Discrimination Against Persons or Groups
The license must not discriminate against any person or group of persons.”

And if the license must not restrict this, the distributor shouldn’t as well! Its free software and not US software! :-(

So, if they argue with US laws I have the feelings that they shouldn’t or cannot provide free software hosting any longer. Maybe they should create a server outside the US?

Or should users from the affected countries use tor or should all developers migrate to alternative free software hosting projects?

But it is nice that they allow the comments to the link above, that’s good:

“sarcastic-man on January 25th, 2010
[...] Maybe one day Americans will wake up and realize that the world is a big place. [...]

afsharm on January 25th, 2010
I am an Iranian (an innocent one) and I am not responsible for what ever my government is doing. As nawwark mentioned I’ve sometimes have contributions in SF.NET projects, so why you are denying me from my own works?
It’s against freedom and against FOSS.

bones_0 on January 26th, 2010
Just for the book: I want everybody to access my projects. Beeing a Swiss product (I am Swiss citizend and resident) it’s kind of crazy they are falling under US law now… [...]“
But also:
“meonkeys on January 25th, 2010
[...] maybe this will raise awareness of these laws and encourage people to get them changed
lukecrouch on January 26th, 2010
Disclaimer: SourceForge employee.
I speak for all of us here when I say we feel your pain. “Rub us the wrong way” is the nicest possible term for it – very diplomatic on Lee’s part. I host projects here on SourceForge too – ajaxmytop, peardbdeploy, and tangoiconsprite. So blocking these countries not only goes against the free flow of information, but it cuts down my potential audience and collaborators; not to mention that it removes hundreds of thousands of ad impressions from the business!
But at the end of the day, I’m a 20-something web developer with a wife and kid to feed and I have the amazing chance to do that AND try to give my own small contributions to open-source software.  [...]“
One thought on “Shame on Sourceforge?

  1. Pingback: Update: Shame on Sourceforge? « Find Time for the Karussell

Comments are closed.